Select Page

Sandifer says penalties for missing inspection or registration labels for your trailer are similar to penalties for missing inspection or registration tags for your car. « We have seen trailers cause accidents. cause fatal accidents. So that`s something we`re asking people to do, » Sandifer said. Total length: 70 feet; Trailer length: 40 feet; Width: 96 inches (102 inches wide allowed on some roads); Height: 13 feet 6 inches. State law requires your trailer to be inspected and registered every two years to make sure it meets safety standards. Sandifer says that while you get a ticket if you don`t have the right documents on your trailer, he says— contrary to rumors on the internet — law enforcement officials don`t chase away those who don`t comply. (E.1) The Department of Public Security and Corrections of the State Police Bureau shall have the authority to authorize security devices other than security chains for towing trailers or semi-trailers. The approval of a safety device must be in writing. Any such device must be inspected by the State Police Bureau prior to written authorization.

In deciding whether or not to approve such a safety device to replace safety chains, the following criteria shall be taken into account: any trailer or semi-trailer manufactured after 1962 must be fitted with brakes on all wheels. « It`s similar to a vehicle inspection. People need to do — their trailers like boat trailers, commercial vehicle trailers — they also need to be inspected and registered, » said Jared Sandifer, a spokesman for the state police. The internet has been filled with warnings lately that boat dock tickets are issued to boaters whose trailers do not have inspection labels. D. Every trailer and semi-trailer whose maximum permissible weight does not exceed six thousand pounds shall be equipped with safety chains or other safety devices approved in accordance with subsection E. Safety chains or other approved safety devices shall be securely attached to the towing vehicle when the trailer or semi-trailer is in motion and shall be strong enough to enable the trailer to be held behind the towing vehicle if the connection between the two vehicles is disconnected. Trailers and semi-trailers 30 feet or more in length shall have 1 yellow side-marker lamp and 1 yellow reflector located centrally on each side.

C.? Upon presentation of the above documents to the Department, the owner of the trailer is entitled to obtain a Louisiana registration of the trailer and the trailer`s license plate jointly with R.S. 47:462. ? The service will not issue a certificate of ownership of the trailer until one year from the date of registration, during which time a motor vehicle officer is required to conduct an NCIC inspection. ? With NCIC verification, the Department of Motor Vehicles prints a Louisiana motor vehicle title for the trailer and sends the title to the designated registered owner. These brakes must be designed in such a way that the driver of the towing vehicle can apply the brakes of the towing vehicle himself and bring the towing vehicle and the trailer or semi-trailer to an adequate stop. « That way, they know when their (towing vehicle) needs to be inspected, that their trailer also needs to be inspected, » Sleton said. A trailer or semi-trailer that weighs at least 3,000 lbs. be equipped with brakes capable of controlling, stopping and retaining the movement of the towing vehicle and the trailer or semi-trailer. While some boaters say they feel caught off guard by these laws, those who navigate the Atchafalaya River near Butte La Rose say they shouldn`t because these trailer requirements aren`t new. Inspections can be secured wherever auto inspections are performed, and Slaton suggested combining truck and trailer inspections. Every semi-trailer or trailer manufactured after December 31, 1972 shall be equipped with a rear-view mirror mounted on the left side of the vehicle and arranged in such a way that the driver reflects a view of the highway for a distance of at least 200 feet from the rear of the vehicle.

E.? The grant of title under this Division does not prevent another person from asserting ownership of the trailer in question. No legal requirements for the type of coupling or support. Safety chains required for all trailers under 6,000 lbs. Hitch not required. Each trailer and semi-trailer must be equipped with at least 1 red light at the rear, which emits a light for at least 1,000 feet. (2)? The individual applicant must sign an affidavit detailing the conversion of ownership by which he claims to have acquired ownership of the trailer in question, listing all the persons involved in the acquisition of the trailer and the purchase price of the trailer. ? This affidavit must include a complete description of the trailer, make, model and vehicle identification number, and the depositor must sign the affidavit in the presence of a designated notary of that state. (5)? The trailer owner must have a physical inspection of the trailer performed by a Louisiana P.O.S.T.

certified enforcement officer in accordance with R.S. 47:477. We were told that you can inspect or register your trailer at any official vehicle inspection location in Louisiana. « One day, one of these black rails completely came off on the highway, » Voorhies said. « Thank God it was from the outside. He did not hit traffic. And I`ve seen trailers spin a wheel because people don`t lubricate them. « I think I`d better have my trailer inspected.

§ 284. It is forbidden to ride in caravans, wings, running boards or luggage racks; open vans; Utility trailers BATON ROUGE, LA (WAFB) – We`re approaching the end of summer, but there`s still plenty of time for outdoor tasks and activities in South Louisiana. But you may want to make sure your commercial vehicle trailer meets state standards before you lug your lawn mower or boat around town. (4)? If the individual applicant is unable to provide documentation proving ownership of the trailer, either through a sales contract or a receipt, they must obtain two affidavits from individuals who have personal knowledge of how the individual applicant acquired ownership of the trailer in question. ? The depositor must sign and date the affidavit containing the complete description of the trailer, make, model and vehicle identification number in the presence of a notary public of that state. Any trailer or semi-trailer between 3,001 and 5,000 lbs requires only brakes on 1 axle. « Anyway, it`s a law. You need to have your trailer inspected, » Sandifer said. « With regard to the widespread action against it …

It`s not true. These days, the piers are filled with people enjoying Louisiana`s waterways. What some may forget, there are laws regarding trailers used to pull their boats. Trailers and semi-trailers with a width of 80 inches or more shall be equipped with 2 front end-outline marker lamps on each side, 2 rear stop lamps on each side and 2 side-marker lamps and 2 reflectors, 1 each at the front and 1 at the rear. Louisiana`s revised Law 32:1304 states that « all motor vehicles, low-speed vehicles, trailers, semi-trailers, and coupled trailers registered in that state shall be inspected and an official certificate of inspection and approval shall be obtained for such vehicle. » Louisiana`s trailer laws and regulations are listed below: It is forbidden to drive in towed trailers.