Select Page

This period can be divided into two periods, which are before the merger and after the merger. The period prior to incorporation covers the period between 1861 and 1914. At that time, various parts of what is now known as Nigeria were administered by the British government or its subject. The period after the merger would refer to the period after the merger of the colony and protectorate of southern Nigeria with the protectorate of northern Nigeria to form what we recognize as Nigeria. After the cession of Lagos to the British Crown in 1861, the Supreme Court Decree of 1863 established the Supreme Court on the territory of Lagos, which was later replaced by the Civil and Criminal Courts, which were the highest court in the country. In addition, appeals by the West African Court of Appeal in Sierra Leone are addressed directly to the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council. In 1874, the Gold Coast Colony was established, which included Lagos and the Gold Coast. The Supreme Court Order in Council of 1876 provided for the establishment of a colony Supreme Court to administer the common law, doctrines of equity, and laws of general application in force on 24 July 1874. The three-tier judicial system had a hierarchy consisting of the district court, the divisional court and the plenum, and appeals were in that order. 5) Two persons qualified as lawyers for a period of at least 15 years are also members In order to correct the anomalies, the federal government appointed in April 1959 a committee composed of the Attorney General of the A.G. region of the Federation, the Legal Secretary of Southern Cameroon and 6 eminent jurists under the chairmanship of the former General Assembly of the Federation, Mr.

E.T.C. UNSWORTH. The Committee was mandated to ensure that before a person can qualify as a judge of the Court of Appeal, he or she must have been qualified as a lawyer for at least 12 years. Conflict-of-laws rules are called a set of procedural rules that determine the legal system and law of jurisdiction applicable to a particular dispute. It is also considered a term used to examine the « challenge of applying multiple laws in a particular legal issue involving two different nations. The Supreme Court Order of 1876 provided for two categories of persons who lived under Period 1. categories: legally qualified practitioners, those who have already been admitted as lawyers, or those who have qualified as barristers in England or Scotland. These individuals were automatically registered with the Supreme Court of Nigeria and were therefore allowed to practise during this period. While Chapter 10 discusses the relatively new phenomenon of the multi-door courthouse as an alternative to the flaws in our traditional civil justice system, Chapter 11 (which should have followed Chapter 9 because of the similarity of its subject) focuses on the recruitment, tenure and removal of judges. It takes into account applicable rules and regulations such as the Latimer House Principles and the 1999 Constitution. Chapter 7 focuses on conflicts of laws – particularly between customary law, received English law and between different systems of customary law – the latter with an emphasis on land and inheritance or inheritance issues.

Under the 1963 constitution, Nigeria`s Supreme Court became the highest court in the country. In 1963, there was also an additional region that was removed from the former western region known as the Midwest region. The indigenous dishes of the northern region became known as regional courts. The judicial system was severely damaged by the military coup of January 1966 and another in July of the same year. The following year, the country was divided into 12 states among the states (creation and transitional provision), Decree 17 of 1967. This was the beginning of a series of military coups that briefly returned to civilian rule in 1979, and in the period from 1967 to the present day, the country has been restructured several times. Currently, there are now 36 states and FCTs. The judicial system remains decentralized, up to the Court of Appeals, which has different divisions in different states, and the Supreme Court, which is located in the FCT. Chapter 12, magnificently titled (« The Advocacy ») could not have been otherwise. Its mandate is obvious, but so is its scope.

In fact, it could be a book in itself, as it traces the history of the legal profession in Nigeria: including the main features of legal education (the law school, applicable laws and bodies, the call to the bar), the body of advisers within the bar association, sanctions for professional negligence, the Attorney General of the Federation and States, notaries, professional ethics, etc. In 1933, there was another judicial reform to establish a Supreme Court and a Magistrate Court under the Protectorate Court Ordinance 1933, which repealed the Provisional Court Order while the colony`s Supreme Court continued to exist. Jurisdiction over English law was shared between these courts, which had jurisdiction at first instance and on appeal. Appeals ranged from the Magistrate Court to the High Court and from national courts to the Magistrate Court or the High Court, while appeals from the High Court and Supreme Court went to the West African Court of Appeal. Other relevant regulations were the Indigenous Courts Ordinance and the West African Courts Ordinance, both of 1933. The jurisdiction always remained merged between the native and English systems, so that in some subjects, for example.